

American Fisheries Society

Western Division

President Eric Wagner, President-elect Scott Bonar, Vice-president Leanne Roulson, Secretary-Treasurer Dave Ward, Past-president Bob Hughes

Minutes of the Western Division American Fisheries Society Business Meeting May 7th, 2008 - 12:00 to 1:20 pm

President Eric Wagner called the meeting to order and determined that a quorum was present.

President's Report

Eric welcomed attendees; those from countries outside of North America were also recognized.

A letter directed to the U.S. Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee concerning legislation to reform the 1872 Mining Law had been sent via list serve and was distributed in the registration materials for the meeting. The membership voted in favor of sending the letter.

Eric updated the membership on progress organizing the Division archives, and gave a PowerPoint presentation highlighting the Division's history. Past Division Presidents were then recognized.

Eric recognized the host Oregon Chapter for organizing such a large meeting. Eric then recognized the division's committee chairs, and asked members to consider becoming involved in committees.

Eric announced that new Western Division caps were available for purchase.

Treasurer's Report

Secretary-Treasurer Dave Ward summarized the status of the FY 2008 budget, as well as all Western Division accounts. The Division is in good financial shape, and will be even more solid after proceeds from the meeting are realized.

The endowment fund has suffered through the recent turmoil in the stock market, but continues to grow. Four chapters have invested in the fund.

Awards

Past President Bob Hughes first implemented an innovative way to ensure that the attention of attendees was on the speakers at the podium.

Troy Brandt recognized the winners of the Riparian Challenge awards (BLM: Holister Office, Santa Cruz County; USFS: Nine Mile Ranger District, Lolo National Forest; Nature Conservancy, Williamson River Delta Project; Montana Fish Wildlife & Parks, Big Hole Partnership)..

Bob Gresswell recognized the winners of the Eugene Maughn (Jeffry Falke and Lewis Barnett) & William Trachtenburg Scholarship (J. Ryan Bellmore).

Vice President Leanne Roulson gave a PowerPoint presentation summarizing progress and funding challenges for the Division's Western Native Fishes Project.

Eric Wagner bestowed the Past President's Award to Bob Hughes. Bob was extremely humble in acceptance.

Bob then recognized the Division's major award winners for 2008:

- Conservation Achievement Award: The Whirling Disease Foundation
- Robert Borovicka Award: Charles Huntington
- Award of Excellence: Hiram Lee

Amy Unthank provided a presentation announcing the 2009 Western Division meeting, to be held in May in Albuquerque, New Mexico.

The 2011 meeting of the AFS Parent Society will be held in Seattle.

President-Elect Scott Bonar gave a quick overview of his plans for the Division next year.

The meeting was adjourned.