Iowa Chapter of the American Fisheries Society Minutes of the 2007 Annual Business Meeting 18 January 2007 Holiday Inn, Council Bluffs, Iowa

President Mark Flammang called the annual business meeting of the Iowa Chapter (Chapter) to order at 3:05 PM. Fifty-two members attended the meeting.

President Flammang requested approval of the agenda (attached). Mike Mason motioned to approve the agenda, Mart Konrad seconded it, and the motion carried unanimously.

President Flammang introduced the executive committee (EXCOM) and committee chairs. Mike Hawkins (absent) is President Elect. Kim Bogenschutz is serving as Secretary/Treasurer second term. Past President and Membership Chair is Donna Muhm. Newsletter editor is Alan Johnson. The committees and their chairs are Audit, Ben Dodd; Resolutions, Don Herrig; REAP, Dick McWilliams; Continuing Education, Clay Pierce; Student Affairs, Mike Quist; Nominations, Gary Siegwarth; Best Paper, Kim Hawkins; Program, Mike Hawkins. Jon Lore is the Iowa State University Student Subunit (Student Subunit) President.

President Flammang requested approval of the 2006 business meeting minutes. Joe Larscheid moved to approve the minutes, Mart Konrad seconded the motion, and the motion carried unanimously.

President Flammang gave special thanks to the following people for their help in organizing the annual meeting: Jeff Kopaska and Randy Schultz (program), Ben Dodd and Sarah Kaatz (raffle), Lannie Miller (socials), Student Subunit (poster session).

Secretary/Treasurer Bogenschutz summarized the treasurer's report and concluded a balance of \$4,526.15 as of 27 December 2006. Income was a combination of chapter dues and rebates, annual meeting registrations, raffle, and interest on the checking account. The report was audited by Audit Committee Chair Dodd. Joe Morris moved to approve the treasurer's report, Bernie Schonhoff seconded the motion, and the motion carried unanimously.

Committee Reports

Resolutions –Don Herrig reported that last year the Chapter proposed writing a resolution in support of the proposed river otter season. A resolution was not written, but a limited otter season was open in the fall of 2006. No new resolutions were proposed.

REAP – Dick McWilliams was absent due to his recent retirement from the Iowa DNR Fisheries Bureau. Ben Dodd replaced McWilliams as the fisheries biologist in Boone and will replace him as REAP Committee Chair.

Continuing Education – Clay Pierce was absent. A continuing education course on web-based tools for fisheries was held in December 2006.

Nominations – Gary Siegwarth was absent but previously told President Flammang that he would continue as Nominations Committee Chair.

Best Paper – Kim Hawkins was absent, and Lannie Miller agreed to conduct the judging this year. Jeff Kopaska and Van Sterner will assist.

Student Subunit – Jon Lore introduced the other Student Subunit officers. Adam Havard is President Elect, Corey DeBoom is Secretary, and Iaian Bock is Treasurer. President Lore detailed activities of the Student Subunit. President Lore announced that the Iowa State Student Subunit was awarded the North Central Division Most Active Student Subunit Award at the 2006 Midwest Fish and Wildlife Conference. Projects in 2006 included hosting a kids fishing clinic, hosting a booth and conducting a casting contest/raffle at VEISHEA, monitoring the fish community in Squaw Creek (see poster at poster session), tagging walleye at Guttenberg, constructing fish habitat in Lost Grove Lake, and attending the 2006 Midwest Fish and Wildlife Conference. President Lore requested Chapter members make presentations at Student Subunit meetings and provide volunteers experiences for Student Subunit members. Guest speakers in 2006 included Donna Muhm, Mike Steuck, Denny Weiss, Jeff Kopaska, and North Central Division President Brad Parsons.

Student Affairs – Mike Quist reported that Todd Casper received the ISU Scholarship, Zac Jackson received a Joan Duffy Travel Award, and David Rowe received the Ken Carlander Memorial Scholarship. The Student Subunit was awarded the North Central Division Most Active Student Subunit along with the Southern Illinois Student Subunit. Jeff Koch, Zac Jackson, and David Rowe were finalists for the Janice Lee Fenske Memorial Award.

Program – Mike Hawkins was absent and President Flammang reported that no details have been worked out yet for the 2008 annual meeting.

Technical Committee Reports

Walleye – Donna Muhm reported that there was no spring 2006 meeting and the winter 2006 meeting was held at the 2006 Midwest Fish and Wildlife Conference in Omaha. Minutes from the meeting can be viewed on the committee website (www.ncd-afs.org/Default.asp?mid=23&sid=33).

Centrarchid – Lewis Bruce attended the summer meeting in July at Wyalusing State Park in Prairie du Chien, Wisconsin. The meeting included 12 presented papers and a business meeting. The committee is planning a bioenergetics workshop for 2007. The black bass regulations manuscript is in press. The black bass symposium scheduled for the 2006 Midwest Fish and Wildlife Conference in Omaha was cancelled. The 2007 summer meeting is scheduled for July 24-25 at Wyalusing State Park.

Esocid – Joe Larscheid did not attend the meeting in 2006. A summary of the meeting can be viewed on the committee website (www.ncd-afs.org/Default.asp?mid=23&sid=32). The 2007 summer meeting is scheduled for August 8-10 at the Kemp Station in Woodruff, Wisconsin.

Salmonid – Gary Siegwarth was absent. However, this committee has been inactive, and no meeting was held in 2006.

Ictalurid – Dan Kirby was absent. Kirk Hansen reported that the committee is planning the 2nd International Catfish Symposium (Catfish 2010) with the Southern Division for June 26-30, 2010. A planning meeting is scheduled for February 13. Look for updates on the committee's website (www.ncd-afs.org/Default.asp?mid=23&sid=34).

Rivers and Streams – Greg Gelwicks reported that the spring meeting was held in March at Rock Island, Illinois, and consisted of state chapter reports and presentations. State chapter reports are on the committee's website (www.ncd-afs.org/Default.asp?mid=23&sid=59). The committee sponsored a symposium on statewide rivers and streams monitoring programs at the 2006 Midwest Fish and Wildlife Conference. The 2007 spring meeting will be held March 21-22. The committee is looking for speakers and will have someone talk about the FWS Fish Habitat Program. Greg will send out meeting information along with a request for reports.

Awards and Recognition

North Central Division Secretary/Treasurer Randy Schultz presented the North Central Division Most Active Student Subunit Award to Subunit President Lore. He also presented in absence the North Central Division Fisheries Excellence Award to Kay Hill. Hill's nomination was submitted by Don Kline and Don Bonneau.

President Flammang presented the Iowa Chapter AFS Past President Award to Past President Muhm.

President Flammang suggested that retired Iowa DNR Fisheries Bureau employees John Pitlo and Tom Boland be nominated for the North Central Division Fisheries Excellence Award.

Old Business

President Flammang announced that the application due date for the Chapter's fisheries habitat grants will change to August 1 to match the Chapter's fiscal year. The Chapter looks to award two grant per year. Project extensions are allowed, but they need to be reviewed by the EXCOM.

New Business

None

Randy Schultz motioned to adjourn, Jeff Kopaska seconded it, and the motion passed unanimously. The meeting adjourned at 3:52 PM.