# Iowa Chapter of the American Fisheries Society Annual Business Meeting Iowa Chapter AFS Meeting – Iowa State University Memorial Union, Ames, IA 3:00 PM, Friday, March 10, 2017

### CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order by President Jeff Kopaska. Kopaska introduced EXCOM: Secretary/Treasurer: Ryan Hupfeld, Past President: Lewis Bruce, President Elect: Jonathan Meerbeek. In attendance at the beginning of the meeting were 39 chapter members.

Rebecca Krogman moved to approve the agenda for the 2017 business meeting. Bryan Hayes 2<sup>nd</sup>. All were in favor. 2016 business meeting minutes were sent to membership prior to business meeting for review.

Rebecca Krogman moved to approve the business meeting minutes of 2016. Darcy Cashatt 2<sup>nd</sup>. All were in favor.

Treasurer's report and committee reports were sent to membership prior to business meeting for review.

Lewis Bruce moved to approve treasurer's report and committee reports, Kurt Meek 2<sup>nd</sup>. All were in favor.

#### Awards:

Past President: Lewis Bruce

Best Paper winners from AFS 2016 were awarded.

Best Professional Paper: Royce Bowman, Iowa DNR, "An Evaluation of Seasonal Movement and Habitat Selection of Northern Pike in Pools 10 and 13 in the Upper Mississippi River".

Best Student Paper: Emily E. Ball, Iowa State University, "Assessing Post-Stocking Predation of Fingerling Walleye". Best Student Poster: Carlos A. Camacho, Iowa State University, "Using a Bayesian Hierarchical Approach to Identify Fish Eggs".

# **Old Business:**

Andy Jansen was awarded a \$1,000 grant that will be used to analyze Walleye otoliths for presence of an Oxytetracycline mark to evaluate the most effective stocking method to help increase Walleye densities in Iowa reservoirs.

The \$1,000 grant awarded to Mark Flammang for a Walleye PIT tagging study was refunded to IA AFS.

Mike Steuck was awarded a \$1,000 grant for genetic analysis of South Pine Brook Trout.

## **New Business:**

There are vacant chairs for the Resolutions and Nominations Committee. Ben Wallace volunteered to be the chair for the Nominations Committee. Jeff Kopaska volunteered to be the chair for the Resolutions Committee once his term as President has ended.

Discussion to have a single point of contact for Iowa AFS communications was discussed. Also discussed was to develop two separate email address lists with one of these including dnr.iowa.gov addresses and one excluding dnr.iowa.gov email addresses. It was suggested that we maintain the relationship between IA AFS and IA DNR, and should maintain that certain emails continue to be sent to dnr.iowa.gov email addresses. It was also suggested developing 2 email lists where general IA AFS information and activities can be sent to a list including dnr.iowa.gov addresses and other emails related to legislation/politics can be sent to a list excluding dnr.iowa.gov.

It was agreed upon, by lack of speaking out by members, that Ryan Hupfeld would develop a separate IA AFS email account excluding dnr.iowa.gov so anything that may relate to legislation/politics can be sent to private email addresses. This email account will also be used as the primary point of contact for groups such as the Iowa Environmental Council, Iowa Conservation Alliance, etc. Additionally, Ryan will maintain an email list including dnr.iowa.gov addresses that normal IA AFS information can be sent out to. Please send out email addresses, and for which account you would like them to be included on, to ryan.hupfeld@dnr.iowa.gov.

The chair Jeff Kopaska adjourned the meeting.